Marsh tit

This is one of my favourite birds. Although I have titled it as a marsh tit, it could quite easily be a willow tit. They are almost identical in appearance and can only be distinguished on close inspection, by their song or by the type of nest they build. I know I have heard both types of song so I am certain that both species frequent my garden and I have lots of other pictures of them. A recent link I have found to help identify these birds is at the BTO web site

Marsh tit sitting on a branch

Marsh tit

4 thoughts on “Marsh tit

  1. You do wonder how they escape injury don’t you? Sometimes they come and collect sunflower hearts until they can’t hold any more in their beaks and then fly off. I can’t remember now which one hoards the seed.

  2. I’m impressed that you can distinguish by the song! I have a collection of bird song for Europe by a french guy I believe (Roche), but confess I have not listened to it many times. I greatly envy people that can distinguish passerine calls or walk in a woodland and know which flowers are which.

  3. I’m not that good! If I’m at home and hear a bird I am straight in and on the RSPB website to check it out. Several years ago I did get very interested in wild flowers and was able to identify quite a lot, but that was before I was into photography unfortunately, now I can’t remember their names.

Leave a Reply

